Everyday Arkansas truckers come to our big rig insurance brokers for quick help (855) 826-0321.
Big Rig Insurance Arkansas Brokers have most any type of bonds needed for your trucking brokerage or freight forwarder operation please visit our bond search and bind facility located here BOND SEARCH
Call us today to get complete Arkansas trucking for hire coverage as fast as possible 855-826-0321. Reliable and affordable all inclusive policies. Call us for you best rates for your for commercial truck insurance. Count on us for delivering unparalleled customer service to meet your load hauling needs.
MOST REQUESTED COVERAGE’S
Motor Truck Cargo Coverage
Commercial General Liability
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
Arkansas commercial truck insurance and requirements are important to understand for businesses that own or operate trucks in the state. As the trucking industry is heavily regulated by both state and federal laws, understanding how Arkansas regulates commercial trucks can help business owners stay compliant. This document will provide an overview of Arkansas commercial truck insurance requirements and regulations for businesses operating commercial trucks in the state.
Defining a Commercial Vehicle
Arkansas considers any vehicle that is registered to a business as a commercial vehicle. Commercial vehicles must be operated for business purposes such as transporting goods, services, or people for a fee. Types of commercial vehicles include box trucks, panel vans, dump trucks, tow trucks, tractor trailers, buses, and delivery trucks.
Arkansas Commercial Truck Insurance Requirements
In Arkansas, all commercial vehicles must have valid and adequate insurance coverage in order to be legally operated on public roadways. The minimum liability coverage required in Arkansas is $1,000,000 per occurrence and $300,000 per person. However, some businesses may need to purchase higher limits of coverage depending on the type of cargo they are hauling and the value of their vehicle(s).
It is also important to note that commercial trucks must maintain comprehensive coverage for property damage and physical injury protection. Comprehensive insurance covers damage caused by fire, windstorm, hail, theft, vandalism, or other non-collision-related damages. It also includes medical payments coverage to protect drivers from the costs of medical care related to an accident. Additionally, drivers may be required to prove that they maintain a workers’ compensation policy if they employ any drivers.
Commercial Driver License (CDL) Requirements
Drivers of commercial vehicles in Arkansas must obtain a Commercial Driver License (CDL) prior to operating a commercial vehicle in the state. To obtain a CDL license in Arkansas, applicants must provide proof of identity, pass physical examinations and drug tests, complete written tests when applicable, and have three years’ experience driving similar vehicles in other states. Upon successful completion of the requirements, applicants will receive their CDL license and may begin operating commercial vehicles in Arkansas.
Businesses that own more than 25 commercial vehicles may be able to file self-insurance with the state by submitting an annual filing with the Arkansas Insurance Department. Self-insured operators must demonstrate financial ability to cover losses and demonstrate an effective safety program designed to reduce the risk of loss.
Logbook Requirements for Drivers
The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) requires drivers of commercial vehicles operating interstate or within Arkansas to maintain logbooks recording specific information about their trip. Logbooks must include driver information such as name or license number; vehicle information such as make and model; a description of commodities being transported; location and distances traveled; hours of service logged; and any rest periods or sleeping times taken. Logbooks must be kept up-to-date and available for review upon request by law enforcement or inspection officers.
Hours of Service for Drivers
The FMCSA has set forth restrictions on the number of hours a driver may be on duty without rest periods. There are different sets of rules based on the type of cargo being hauled: “General freight” which applies to most motor carriers and “Passenger Carrier” which applies to those hauling passengers only. In general, drivers may not operate a vehicle beyond 14 consecutive hours after 10 consecutive hours off duty. Drivers must also log at least 10 consecutive hours off duty at least once during a seven day period Drivers who violate hours of service regulations can face fines or disqualifications from operating commercial vehicles across state lines.
The FMCSA also requires both random and scheduled vehicle inspections to ensure safe operation of commercial vehicles on the roadways. Inspectors evaluate items such as brakes, tires, suspension systems, exhaust systems, and fuel systems for compliance with regulations. Depending on the results of the inspection, repairs must either be made immediately or at an approved facility before the vehicle is allowed back on the roadways. Vehicles that fail inspection may be placed out of service until repairs are made.
We can easily insure the following business types.
CEMENT CONTRACTING – COAL HAULING – CONSTRUCTION – COURIER SERVICE – COURTESY PASSENGER TRANSPORT – DEBRIS REMOVAL – DEMOLITION – DIRT, SAND & GRAVEL – ELECTRICIANS – EXPEDITERS – FARMING – FIREWOOD HAULING – BULK FLORIST Refrigerated DELIVERY – FOR-HIRE TRUCKING – FROZEN FOODS TRANSPORT – FURNITURE DELIVERY – GARBAGE COLLECTION – HAZARDOUS MATERIALS HAULING – HOTEL SHUTTLES – HOTSHOT TRANSPORT – ICE CREAM VENDOR – IMPOUND LOT – INTERIOR DECORATING – INDEPENDENT TRUCKING – LANDSCAPING – LEASED-ON BIG RIG TRUCKING – LINEN SUPPLY – LOGGING – LONG-HAUL TRUCKING – MOTORCYCLE DEALERSHIP – OWNER-OPERATOR – PIANO MOVING – PLUMBING – ROCK QUARRY HAULING – RECYCLING SERVICES – REFRIGERATED GOODS TRANSPORT – RETAIL FOOD MARKET – ROOFING – SHOPPING MALL DELIVERIES – SNOW PLOWING – TOW OPERATION – TREE SERVICE – WIDE LOAD HAULER – WRECKER SERVICES and much more.
Below are the classifications of commercial big rig trucking policies.
• Symbol 1 – Any auto, don’t have to schedule them. Covers any auto as long
as the insured is using it. (This is rare nowadays especially for Big Rig Trucks))
• Symbol 2 – Any owned auto. Covers only autos that the insured owns.
Includes autos you acquire ownership of after the policy begins.
• Symbol 3 – Owned private passengers autos only. Covers private passenger
autos. Includes autos you acquire after the policy begins.
• Symbol 4 – Owned autos other than private passenger autos only. Covers only
those autos you own that are not private passenger and for liability for trailers
you don’t own while attached to power units you own. Includes those autos
not of the private passenger type you acquire after the policy begins.
• Symbol 5 – Owned autos. Subject to No Fault State.
• Symbol 6 – Owned autos. Subject to Compulsory Uninsured Motorist Law.
Form you attach when the state requires and insured can not reject uninsured
motorist coverage. It includes autos you acquire during the policy period after
the policy begins.
• Symbol 7 – Specifically described autos. Covers only described autos.
Coverage follows power unit. Non owned trailers have liability with this form. (Most common for Alabama Big Rig, Box Trucks and other For-Hire operations)
• Symbol 8 – Hired Auto Only. Covers auto you lease, hire, rent or borrow.
This does not include any auto you lease, hire, rent or borrow from any of your
employees, partners or members, etc.
• Symbol 9 – Non-Owned Autos Only – Coverage auto you do not own, lease,
hire, rent or borrow that are used in connection with your business. Includes
auto owned by your employees, partners, members, etc.
Arkansas requires businesses operating commercial trucks in the state to comply with various insurance regulations as well as other rules governing the safe operation of these vehicles. The requirements are intended to help ensure that businesses operating these vehicles are doing so safely and responsibly while protecting other motorists from harm due to their negligence or recklessness while driving their vehicles. Business owners must understand these rules in order to stay compliant with Arkansas regulations.